Featured artist: Shannon Crees

Young Writers and Critics Awards 2016

Featured artist: Shannon Crees
You are here:


Young Writers and Critics Awards 2016

Young Writers and Critics Awards 2016

The winners of Marrickville Library’s inaugural Young Writers and Critics Awards for 2016 have been announced.

The winners are...

Young Writers Award 2016

Young Critics Award 2016

  • Jamie from Sydney Girl’s High School (winner)

Anne Nguyen Award for Young Enviro Champions

  • Jamie from Sydney Girl's High School (12-14 year olds category)
  • Gabrielle Younes (15-18 year olds category)


This year, each age division winner got a $250 cash prize. The Awards were open to 12-18 year olds who work, live or study in the Inner West Council area.

This year’s Awards had three categories, with each division having a panel of high profile judges:

Young Writers Award for creative writing

  • Fiona McFarlane: Award-winning author of The Night Guest and new release The High Places
  • Emma Noble: Book publicist, Director of Noble Words and author of The DIY Book PR Guide
  • Kylie Fornasier: Young Adult author of new release, The Things I Didn't Say.

Young Critics Award for critiquing an item from the Marrickville Library and History collection

  • Linda Morris: Arts and Books Writer, Sydney Morning Herald and The Age
  • Stephen Romei: Literary Editor, The Australian
  • Brodie Lancaster: Writer and regular contributor to Tavi Gevinson’s Rookie magazine

The Anne Nguyen Award for Young Enviro Champions for addressing the importance of young environmental champions

The Anne Nguyen Award for Young Enviro Champions honoured the memory of a committed Library staff member whose infectious laugh, bantering conversations and love for obscure books filled the Library with joy.

  • Ben Cubby: Environment Editor, Sydney Morning Herald
  • David Imrie: Chief Executive, Keep NSW Beautiful
  • Tim Moore: Marrickville Council’s Director of Environmental and Planning Services

To be the first to hear if these Awards will take place in 2017, subscribe here.